Reaching out

I was having a really grotty day yesterday. I am on a mission to give up caffeine (doctors orders) and rather than doing it gradually I have gone cold turkey. I didn’t really expect any symptoms and so was horrified by my fuzzy aching head, extreme tiredness, painful eyes, grumpiness and extreme craving for chocolate. All of this was not aided by some of the last minute noises off regarding our REF submission, which I felt I had put safely to bed, only to find that there is a lot of internal admin left to do.

Then out of the blue came an invitation to be one of the scientists involved with the November event for I’m a Scientist Get Me Out of Here! This is a fantastic outreach event that brings together active scientists with students in secondary schools. The students pose questions for the scientists to answer, some of which is done through online chat sessions over the fortnight. As the students get to vote for their favourite scientist in their zone, I am going to have to prove that I have the X Factor and if I win, then there is a £500 prize that I can use to launch another outreach event (I intend to target local schools with science equipment).

I vaguely remember putting in an application to take part in this a couple of months ago having seen an advert on Twitter, but then it slipped my mind. I’m hoping it will be a lot of fun- perhaps something other (younger and more photogenic) colleagues might take on.

So come 11th November, I will be in the ‘Iodine Zone’ competing with Susan, Rachel and Dilwar for the hearts of the nation’s youth! You should be able to follow my progress online and also look at my profile which includes my “interview”. The questions are searching-

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

Who is your favourite singer or band?

What’s your favourite food?

What is the most fun thing you’ve done?

What did you want to be after you left school?

Were you ever in trouble in at school?

What was your favourite subject at school?

What’s the best thing you’ve done as a scientist?

What or who inspired you to become a scientist?

If you weren’t a scientist, what would you be?

If you had 3 wishes for yourself what would they be? – be honest!

Tell us a joke.

 

3 thoughts on “Reaching out

Leave a Reply

