My Loma Linda experience

LL
I have just come to the end of a frenetic two days at Loma Linda University in Southern California where I have been a visiting scientist. Alongside giving two seminars on our work on fetal programming I have had the chance to meet and talk to a great range of staff and students. I have enjoyed hearing about the work going on here- and especially how so many different lines of enquiry which focus on fetal undernutrition and hypoxia dovetail with some of our own recent work. In addition I’ve had the chance to speak to the leader of the brilliant Seventh Day Adventists health study, which I have so often talked about in teaching and was writing about in my book just a few weeks ago.
I am happy to report that Sutton Bonington is not unique in having a supportive, collegiate and genuinely collaborative scientific community. I don’t think I have ever visited a place where I have been so warmly welcomed. A big thank you to the great Dr Lawrence Longo for the invitation and the great honour of meeting him, plus the gift of his fascinating new book.
I shall be homeward bound tomorrow- looking forward to some cooler weather and home comforts again.
Leave a Reply

