A very nice surprise

At the end of a long, hot day at work I received a real surprise this evening. I received an email informing me that I have been awarded a University of Nottingham Vice Chancellor’s Medal. These awards are given to recognise:

• Exceptional achievement in any arena;

• Notable endeavour which has made a difference to the University;

• A substantive contribution which has enhanced the reputation of the University of Nottingham;

• Activity which has had a noticeably positive impact for students, staff or the local community;

• An individual achievement or sustained achievement over a period of time.

I will be presented with the medal at a ceremony later this year. The very kind nomination from current and former colleagues and students recognised work that I have done to promote the careers of women in science, through mentoring, assistance with securing promotion and culture change within the School of Biosciences.

Many thanks to all who nominated me for this award. It’s great to be appreciated. I am surprised and delighted at the news that I have been recognised for the work I do in this area. From my perspective I am just trying to do the right thing and make things better for the great people I work with.

I may just have to go and sit in the garden with something nice to drink…

One thought on “A very nice surprise

Leave a Reply

